Meet Caulbart. News that matter to you.

Ski jumping: Markus Eisenbichler jumps away from the competition

In the absence of the Austrian team, which was shaken by Corona, Markus Eisenbichler won the ski jumping competition in Kuusamo. For Andreas Wellinger it is not yet running.

Ski jumping World Champion Markus Eisenbichler has also won the second individual World Cup of the season. Six days after his success in Wisla, the 29-year-old prevailed in Kuusamo, Finland and extended his lead in the overall World Cup. On Sunday another individual jumping event is on the agenda in Finland.

After two jumps at 146 and 141 metres from the treacherous Rukatunturi Hill, Eisenbichler had a big advantage of 19.3 points – equivalent to almost eleven metres – over the Pole Piotr Zyla (294.1) with 313.4 points. Zyla’s compatriot Dawid Kubacki (293.9), reigning winner of the Four Hills Tournament, finished third, while the second best German was Pius Paschke, who finished eighth (268.5) and thus achieved his best World Cup result. Karl Geiger, second behind Eisenbichler in Wisla, finished ninth (265.2) after a weaker first jump. Olympic Champion Andreas Wellinger failed in 34th place also in the second competition after his long break because of a torn cruciate ligament in the first run.

The first run was overshadowed by a heavy fall of the Norwegian Daniel André Tande. The ski flying world champion fell during the landing, apparently twisted his knee and had to be driven out of the run with his sled. A diagnosis has not yet been made, but a portrait of Daniel André Tande can be read here. Austrian power also tested positiveEisenbichler is also benefiting from the fact that Austria can only compete with a B-team. As the Austrian federation announced, overall World Cup winner Stefan Kraft and his roommate Michael Hayböck have also tested positive for the corona virus. Both did not show any symptoms.

Image source:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Article

Bundesliga: Borussia Dortmund loses, Bayern Munich wins

Related Posts